What I’m Into – September 2014

To get the introduction to what this break from our regularly scheduled programming is all about, check out my first ‘What I’m Into’ post, just last month.

I really enjoy doing this, and am thankful to Leigh Kramer to getting this started. It’s been a great way for me to slow down and really relish the things I’ve been enjoying and learning and experiencing lately – and disciplines me to step out of my workaholism and soak up some life.

Books I’ve Read

What a strange, strange, but so deeply intriguing, book. It was also very funny. I’m still trying to figure out what it was about – but a major chunk of it is dealing with the sense that the universe is meaningless, and what human life can and should be in a meaningless universe (or, that is, in a universe in which God is ‘entirely indifferent’ and all of human life is only an absurd part in some larger galactic story). It reminds me a tiny bit of several other favorite pieces of contemporary literature (Arcadia by Tom Stoppard) that play with similar themes – making me think that a form of cynical existentialism seems to be very present in relatively recent literature.

“The creatures thereupon began slaying each other, because they hated purposeless things above all else.”

 

Talk about provocative. And to think that this was required reading in a seminary course. This was for a course in ethnic reconciliation. In the conservative circles of my upbringing, Malcolm X is not given much time of day. And he certainly was ‘edgy,’ for lack of a better term. But it is so important to read people like him, who are so easily turned into icons of politics (one way or the other) and find that their lives and thought were so much more complicated than caricatured. There is a lot to learn and think about here.

 

 

TV

“In a world in which hot dogs can be hats, anything is possible.”

Movies

I know it’s the school year but the sudden lack of movies to report on. I’m really working hard to remember if I’ve seen anything this month… I re-watched The Bourne Identity for the first time in a while. That was fun.

Music

  • Great Albums

‘Songs of Innocence’ by U2 (I mean, how can you beat free? And it’s also wonderful)

‘The Edge of the Earth’ by Switchfoot (some unreleased tunes from their documentary project. Some nice gems here).

  • Songs on Repeat

‘Shake It Off’ by T-Swift (no shame. No shame at all).

‘The Girl’ by City and Colour

‘Boom Clap’ by Charlie XCX

‘Stay With Me’ by Sam Smith

‘A Little Lost’ by Sufjan Stevens

‘Boldly I Approach’ by Rend Collective

‘Your Love is Strong’ by Robbie Seay Band

  • I also got to see Rend Collective in concert, and bought tickets to see The Head & The Heart (can’t wait!!!!!)

Second Nature (Moments with nature)

I've rediscovered how therapeutic gardening is for me, so I got myself a new bonsai friend. And some other plants: herbs, ivy, and an aloe plant from a friend.
I’ve rediscovered how therapeutic gardening is for me, so I got myself a new bonsai friend. And some other plants: herbs, ivy, and an aloe plant from a friend. 

10615596_10152682442406068_8013588083971849482_n
New England has been beautiful this month!
Kayaking on the Charles is probably already the highlight of the Fall!
Kayaking on the Charles is probably already the highlight of the Fall!

 

Questions I Don’t Have Answers For (But maybe you do?)

(Coming from my Ethnic Identity & Reconciliation course, and watching race concerns in the news recently): Why is it that one’s race is, sociologically (not causally) speaking, the main determinant in your belief about the nature of a particular news event? What is the relationship between race and perception in this country? I’m reading Divided by Faith:  Evangelical Religion and the Problem of Race in Americawhich I think will address this some.

-Why am I so bad at ironing my shirt?

-Why does the new iOS on my iTouch drain the battery like nobody’s business and make it take like 15 hours to reach a full charge?

Other Quotations

All ancient and modern skeptics, pessimists, scoffers and atheists are innocuous and well-meaning folk compared to this man Job. -Karl Barth

(Thanks for reading along!)

4 thoughts on “What I’m Into – September 2014

  1. I love Boldly I Approach. Pretty much just played it on repeat when The Art of Celebration first came out. And getting to see Rend Collective in concert is a treat, for sure. I went to Rochester to see them about a year ago and really enjoyed myself.

  2. Glad to hear you enjoy the link-up! I really enjoy having a monthly record. The Head and the Heart put on a great show. Have a great time! Great questions and again I have no easy answers. But maybe you just need to practice ironing more? And close out apps on your iTouch when you’re not using them? Divided by Faith is on my To Read list and I think I’ll be adding The Autobiography of Malcolm X.

Leave a Reply

